Project Management Institute Announces List of 50 Next Generation Leaders to Watch

From cleaning up the ocean to crafting a blueprint for architectural activism, PMI recognizes the people that are transforming our world through inspiring projects

Project Management Institute (PMI) announced its first annual Future 50 list, which features the 50 next generation leaders that are creating, building, and transforming the world through notable projects. The 50 young standout project leaders highlighted in the specially dedicated July/August issue of PM Network® magazine  represent the wave of change and talent around the globe-a youthquake that will reshape the future and accelerate innovation in the here and now. Honorees include groundbreaking achievements from people across a variety of industries and countries, including Director Greta Gerwig, Laura Jones from the Special Olympics and Miishe Addy from Jetstream Africa.

According to PMI’s recent Pulse of the Profession® report, Project Management Institute - PMI - Logoonly 40 percent of organizations say they prioritize attracting and hiring the young generation of project professionals. But what the Future 50 list highlights is that this next generation will be crucial to driving value for businesses and society now and in the future.

“As a new generation of leaders rise around the world we are seeing them have additional guiding principles and motivations when compared to earlier generations. Organizations are already rethinking how they can attract, retain and help foster this generation of talent,” said Sunil Prashara, President and CEO of Project Management Institute. “This next generation of project leaders are deeply committed to driving change across the world – from having a deep sense of social responsibility and improving the environment to driving diversity and inclusion. The 50 individuals featured on this list are some of the biggest change makers of their generation. They exemplify the power and transformative change that can happen through projects”

As part of the July/August issue of PM Network, PMI interviewed this year’s Future 50 winners and other seasoned professionals around the globe to uncover ways to encourage this next generation of talent. The issue also outlines six rules to harness the power of these future-focused professionals, including igniting a learning culture; picking up the pace of development; a flatter, more communicative leadership team; more purpose-driven work; and constant, iterative feedback.

To identify this year’s Future 50 honorees, PMI reached out to hundreds of experts and stakeholders across the globe for nominations. A special committee vetted the rising project professionals and narrowed the options. Finalists were then individually researched and/or interviewed to create a list that represents the full spectrum of regions, industries and achievements in The Project Economy – where work increasingly centers around executing projects both large and small. While some honorees are Project Management Professional (PMP)®  credential holders, others would not even describe themselves as project managers. What unites the Future 50 is a commitment to project work as the foundation of positive impact, for today and tomorrow.

To learn more about the complete list of honorees and the rules to drive this next generation of talent, visit

The 50 Future Leaders to Watch:

  1. Abdullah Seflan, Saudi Aramco
  2. Ada Osakwe, Qantas
  3. Adam Fahrenkopf, Google
  4. Alagesan Hanippuya, RHB Banking Group
  5. Andrew Walters, National Australia Bank
  6. Arman Köklü, GE
  7. Bilel Manai, Al Bawsala
  8. Boyan Slat, The Ocean Cleanup
  9. Rep. Bryan Steil,  United States House of Representatives
  10. Charlyn Johnson, UK Ministry of Justice
  11. Diletta Invernizzi, Jacobs
  12. Gabriel Costa Caldas, Alpha Ports
  13. Geetha Gopal, Panasonic
  14. Gillian Dowds, BAE Systems Maritime
  15. Gregory Daniels, Zoom
  16. Greta Gerwig, Director
  17. Greta Thunberg, Climate Change Activist
  18. Hayden Brown, Upwork
  19. Janeen Blige, IBM
  20. Jaspreet Dol, DXC
  21. Jenk Oz, Thred
  22. Jia Song, Didi
  23. Jonathan Kadishson, Burns & McDonnell
  24. Julissa Mateo Abad, Bunker
  25. Kamil Mroz, UCB
  26. Kaspar Korjus, PactumAI
  27. Katerina Treppeschova, Facebook
  28. Kenneth Harris II, NASA
  29. Laura Jones, Special Olympics
  30. Leanne Pittsford, Who Tech
  31. Lijuan Gao, NICE
  32. Marina Tranchitella, Sport Club Internacional
  33. Miishe Addy, Jetstream Africa
  34. Pascale Sablan, S9 Architecure
  35. Rajesh Kumar Nalla, Techimax IT
  36. Prime Minster Sanna Marin, Government of Finland Sevi Rich, BHP
  37. Sevi Rich, BHP
  38. Sitanshu Dash, Adobe
  39. Stephen Xu, Alibaba
  40. Taiwo Abraham, Horizant
  41. Tamara Kotevska, Documentary Producer
  42. Tiago Chavez Oliveira, Government of Brazil
  43. Tim Kaltwasser, Airbus
  44. Vidhya Abhjith, Codewave Tech
  45. Vihari Kanukollu, UrbanKisaan
  46. Wanja Murekio, Safaricom
  47. Whitney Wolfe Herd, Bumble
  48. Ye Fei, ZTE
  49. Yingjin Liu, DSM
  50. Yoftahe Yohannes, Ericsson

*All product names, logos, and brands are the property of their respective owners

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *